OUR CLUB

Hexham Rotary is one of the oldest Rotary Clubs in the UK being founded in 1927. Despite this we are a forward looking club with an ambitious program to keep our members busy helping less fortunate people at home and overseas besides enjoying ourselves and having fun.

presidentEach Rotary Year runs from 1 July to the 30th June and our President this year (2019/2020) is Andy Rigg. The club is completely democratic and the members have a final say in any decisions. A Club Council of 8 members oversees the running of the club but the major work is done in committees or teams of members each led by an experienced Rotarian. These teams are reponsible for the following activities.

The "Events" team looks after the programme of events for Club Members and is led by our President Andy Rigg whose email is president@hexhamrotary.co.uk

The "Community Service" team is responsible for providing help in the local community and is led by Roy Dallison, our last year's President. His email is community@hexhamrotary.co.uk

The "Youth" team provides a programme to help the young people in Hexham and the surrounding area and is led by Neill Wylie. His email is youth@hexhamrotary.co.uk

The "International" team provides help and assistance overseas. This might be in a disaster area or in a third world country. Provision of safe drinking water or help in schools are a couple of examples. They are led by Richard Nelson. His email is international@hexhamrotary.co.uk

The "Foundation" team have a special responsibility for encouraging members to donate to Rotary's own charity - The Rotary Foundation-. This charity helps fund club projects across the world with its major project the elimination of Polio. It is led by Sandy Rutherford. His email is foundation@hexhamrotary.co.uk

The "Membership" team looks after recruitment and membership retention and is led by Brian Massey. His email is membership@hexhamrotary.co.uk

Last but not least we have a team dedicated to fund raising for national or international disasters where a quick response is required. This team is led by Hedley Novis disaster@hexhamrotary.co.uk